And Oscar Should Go To…

Marky Mark knows who wins this.

This is the first year I’ve seen every movie nominated for Best Picture. When the nominations were announced, I realized I had already seen quite a few of them. So I decided to try to see the rest of the movies nominated. Some people challenge themselves to complete marathons, I challenge myself to watch movies. So what?

So without further ado, I give you 2011 Oscar picks.

Best Picture: Black Swan, The Fighter, Inception, The Kids Are All Right, The King’s Speech, 127 Hours, The Social Network, Toy Story 3, True Grit and Winter Bones

I liked every single Best Picture nomination, some more than others. I went back and forth between two movies: Inception and The Fighter. In the end, I think my vote would go to The Fighter. But ask me tomorrow and Inception might win.

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Javier Bardem (Biutiful), Jeff Bridges (True Grit), Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network), Colin Firth (The King’s Speech), James Franco (127 Hours)

First off, apologizes to Javier Bardem because I haven’t seen Biutiful. I did see all the other performances and I’d give this catagory to Colin Firth in The King’s Speech.

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Christian Bale (The Fighter), John Hawkes (Winter’s Bones), Jeremy Renner (The Town), Mark Ruffalo (The Kids Are All Right) and Geoffrey Rush (The King’s Speech)

Christian Bale, Christian Bale, Christian Bale! I honestly forgot I was watching Christian Bale five minutes into The Fighter.

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Annette Bening (The Kids Are All Right), Nicole Kidman (Rabbit Hole), Jennifer Lawrence (Winter’s Bone), Natalie Portman (Black Swam) and Michelle William (Blue Valentine)

It’s a toss-up between Annette Bening and Natalie Portman. Black Swan was the last movie I watched, so her performance sticks out more in my mind. But Annette is also deserving. (Disclaimer: I didn’t see Rabbit Hole or Blue Valentine.)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Amy Adams (The Fighter), Helena Bonham Carter (The King’s Speech), Melissa Leo (The Fighter), Hailee Steinfield (True Grit) and Jacki Weaver (Animal Kingdom)

I have to say it’s complete crap Hailee Steinfield received a supporting role nomination when she the female lead, True Grit was her movie. But I suppose she’s lucky, I think she has a much better shot in this category than she would in Best Actress. I’d give her the win, but not without seriously considering Melissa Leo for perfecting white trash in The Fighter (More disclaimers: Didn’t see Animal Kingdom)

Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3, How To Train Your Dragon and The Illusionist.

I haven’t seen the Illusionist. I absolutely loved Toy Story 3. How To Train Your Dragon was cute, but Toy Story 3 completely redeemed Woody and Buzz after Toy Story 2. If this wasn’t a public forum, I’d tell you I nearly cried like a baby during the closing scene of Toy Story 3. Plus Toy Story 3 was nominated for best picture, the other two movies weren’t… that’s some kind of math problem where Toy Story 3 wins.

I know there’s still awards to hand out, but I hear the music and I’m being told to wrap this up. So thank you 2010 for some good movies (we’ll forget Furry Vengeance and the Tooth Fairy, ok?)

Leave a comment

Filed under Shannon

Leave a Reply

